Netherlands Proteomics Centre
► Login
Newly created Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences awarded to Hans Clevers

Newly created Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences awarded to Hans Clevers

February 2013

One of the 2013 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences has been awarded to NPC project leader Hans Clevers, professor of molecular genetics at he UMC Utrecht and linked to the Hubrecht Institute-KNAW. Hans Clevers is also president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).

The Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences is established this year to recognize excellence in research aimed at curing intractable diseases and extending human life. The prize will be administered by the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation, a not-for-profit corporation, dedicated to advancing breakthrough research, celebrating scientists and generating excitement about the pursuit of science as a career. The new established prizes will be awarded for past achievements in the field of life sciences, with the aim of providing the recipients with more freedom and opportunity to pursue even greater future accomplishments.

Founding sponsors of the Breakthrough Prize include Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, and Yuri Milner, who collectively have agreed to establish 5 annual prizes, US$3 million each, going forward. In the inaugural year (2013) 11 prizes are awarded.

The 2013 prize winners are:

Cornelia I. Bargmann
David Botstein
Lewis C. Cantley
Hans Clevers
Napoleone Ferrara
Titia de Lange
Eric S. Lander
Charles L. Sawyers
Bert Vogelstein
Robert A. Weinberg
Shinya Yamanaka

The award will be presented during a ceremony in New York in August 2013.

Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

Contact      Telephone   +31 30 253 45 64      |      Fax   +31 30 253 69 18      |      Email      |      Privacy settings